Graduate Student Organizations

The College of Pharmacy is home to numerous Graduate Student Organizations, meant to bolster involvement in the College, Professional Organizations, and community at large.

AAPS Volunteers

The UIC AAPS Chapter and MCP Graduate Student Council volunteering at the Ronald McDonald charity house.

American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (AAPS) University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC) Student Chapter


Located in College of Pharmacy, AAPS UIC Student Chapter hopes to encourage students within the University who are interested in the pharmaceutical sciences, particularly in AAPS activities, to join. Student members of our student chapter work in various fields of the pharmaceutical sciences comprising pharmaceutics, pharmacodynamics, pharmacokinetics, pharmacogenomics, toxicology, pharmacology, medicinal chemistry, molecular biology, pharmacy practice etc.

Chair: Catherine Dial
Faculty Advisor: Richard Gemeinhart, PhD

International Society for Pharmacoeconomics and Outcomes Research (ISPOR) Student Chapter


The goal of the International Society for Pharmacoeconomics and Outcomes Research (ISPOR) is to promote excellence in the fields of pharmacoeconomics (health economics) and outcomes research (the scientific discipline that evaluates the effect of health care interventions on patient well-being including clinical, economic, and patient-centered outcomes). Established in 2003, the UIC Student Chapter has been recognized with the ISPOR Outstanding Student Chapter Award (2014), and has taken first place in past ISPOR Student Research Competitions. The chapter is dedicated to providing an environment where students can share knowledge in pharmacoeconomics and outcomes research, and to provide opportunities for students to network with and learn from professionals in the field, including industry, government and academia.

President: Nadia Nabujlsi
Faculty Advisor:  Simon A. Pickard, PhD

Student Chapter of the International Society for Pharmacoepidemiology (ISPE) at UIC


The Department of Pharmacy Systems, Outcomes and Policy (PSOP) of the College of Pharmacy has formed a Student Chapter of the International Society for Pharmacoepidemiology (ISPE) at UIC. ISPE is a non-profit, international professional organization dedicated to advancing public health by serving as a forum for exchange of scientific information and for development of policy, educational programs, and advocacy for the discipline of pharmacoepidemiology.  UIC joins the University of North Carolina, Harvard, John Hopkins, and seven other US and four international universities with Student Chapters of ISPE. An ISPE Student Chapter provides a platform for students to participate in online seminars, network, and develop leadership skills through organization of chapter activities.

President: Connie Yan
Faculty Advisor: Gregory Calip, PharmD, MPH, PhD